Twenty Three Leander ISD Students Named National Merit Semifinalists

Twenty three students in the Leander Independent School District have been named as Semifinalists in the 2017 National Merit Scholarship Program, an honor based on their performance on the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test. National Merit Semifinalists represent less than one percent of high school seniors in the United States.

“On behalf of Leander ISD, I congratulate these students for earning this prestigious honor,” said Leander ISD Superintendent Dan Troxell, Ph.D. “We are incredibly proud of their hard work and dedication, and we are confident that we will continue to see them achieve great heights.”

About 90 percent of Semifinalists will go on to become Finalists. That group will compete for scholarships valued at about $33 million.

Leander ISD 2017 National Merit Semifinalists:

  • Cedar Park High School – Chung-Wing Ko and Bradley Krakar
  • Leander High School – Kent Hansen, Aurora Kesler and Tanner Shaw
  • Rouse High School – Tiffani Burnett and Daniel Myers
  • Vandegrift High School – Ashley Chase, Nicholas Cummings, Bethany Dollar, Spoorthi Kamepalli, Ethan McCosky, Nidhi Pandya, Yilong Peng, Dillon Piegat, Riya Saxena, Spencer Sharp, Robert Smoot, Joshua Stelling and Jonathan Walker
  • Vista Ridge High School – Abbie Flynn, Viennie Lee and Reid Li