Lake Travis ISD Celebrates School Board Members

The Lake Travis Independent School District is celebrating its school board members this January 2018 as part of Texas’ School Board Recognition Month. “Helping Kids Soar to Success” is the theme of the month, and Lake Travis ISD Superintendent Dr. Brad Lancaster is highlighting the work of the school trustees and encouraging their recognition.

“Our community benefits every day from the tireless work and countless hours contributed by the seven men and women who represent more than 10,300 students and their families,” he said. “These local volunteers are elected by their constituents and receive no compensation for their work as public servants.”

The seven Lake Travis School Board members:

  • President Kim Flasch
  • Vice President John Aoueille
  • Secretary Guy Clayton
  • Trustee Alex Alexander
  • Trustee William Beard
  • Trustee Bob Dorsett, Jr.
  • Trustee Lisa Johnson

In a “climate of change and challenge,” Lancaster said, these school board members “develop policies and make tough decisions on complex educational and social issues that affect our community.”

He said, “Our school board members are a vital link between the LTISD community and the classroom. They bear responsibility for an annual operating budget of approximately $120 million, a growing student enrollment, and a highly‐qualified workforce of more than 1,300 employees. School board members are the voice of their communities, serving first and foremost in the best interest of our schoolchildren.”

Lancaster asked the community to show appreciation to the board members this month and year-round, “for giving of themselves and caring so much about every child enrolled in our schools.”

The members will be recognized at multiple events during the month of January, including at the monthly Board of Trustees meeting.